heritage areas advocacy: membership

Who We Are

The Alliance of National Heritage Areas works collectively to protect and promote the people and places that tell America’s stories.

We are a membership organization of congressionally designated National Heritage Areas and partner-affiliated organizations promoting the professionalism and benefits of the program through education and advocacy. Together, we facilitate and celebrate partnerships that improve our effectiveness and impact.

Our goals:

  • Serve as one voice on interests related to all NHAs
  • Educate key constituencies about success and image of the NHA program
  • Facilitate strategic links among NHAs and partners
  • Enhance the organizational capacity of its members
  • Provide a network for sharing best practices regarding a variety of disciplines

Our governing board is made up of a diverse group of National Heritage Area leaders.

Board Member Representing
Sarah Watson Abraham Lincoln NHA (Looking for Lincoln Heritage Coalition)
Mera Cardenas Arabia Mountain NHA
Dayton L. Sherrouse Augusta Canal NHA
Angie Chandler Blue Ridge NHA
Kathleen Benedict Cache la Poudre River NHA
Jim Brangan Champlain Valley NHA
Elissa Garofalo Delaware & Lehigh NHC
Andy Kitzmann Erie Canalway NHC
Annie C. Harris Essex NHA
Julie McPike Freedom’s Frontier NHA
Brandi Roberts Great Basin NHA
J. Herman Blake, Ph.D. Gullah Geechee Cultural Heritage Corridor
William Sellers Journey Through Hallowed Ground NHA
Sara Capen Niagara Falls NHA
Thomas A. Romero Northern Rio Grande NHA
Daniel M. Rice Ohio & Erie Canalway NHA
Marilyn Black Oil Region NHA
Charles W. Flynn Yuma Crossing NHA